need to know how big I can go on wheels [Archive] - Honda Element Owners Club Forum

: need to know how big I can go on wheels

superelement
08-11-2005, 02:47 PM
What is the biggest set of wheels I can put on my E without having to lift it?

Any advice would be helpful.

Thx :-)

paulj
08-11-2005, 03:40 PM
Wheels or tires? Tire size is pretty well limited by the space between tire shoulder and the bell top of the front strut tower. People have increased tire diameters by about 4-6%. Wheels are a different matter - some talk of 20" wheels, but with low profile tires, the overall diameter may actually be smaller than stock.

Lowering is a real option; I don't think anyone has raised an Element.

paulj

superelement
08-11-2005, 03:46 PM
Paul, thx.
Yea, I'm talking about wheels, I was thinking that 20" might be the max. I am a novice when it comes to this. Always wanted to customize my car but my car before my E required all the money I saved to be spent on repairs. Stupid Buick. That is why I went for a Honda. Now that I have a sweet car, I want to give it some sick wheels. I will eventually start to think about tires, but this will be after I figure out how big to go on the wheels/rims.
So if I wanted 22" I might have to riase my E or something?
Definately don't want to lower my E, I like the clearance(sp) it has now.

bonanz
08-11-2005, 04:04 PM
lots of people fit 20's. There is at least one E I've seen posted on here (he has a car domain page) with 22's.

I'd say 20's are biggest within reason, 22's if you're out of control lol

Genom
08-11-2005, 09:40 PM
I don't think you'd have to raise the E to cram 22's in the wheel wells, you may just have to get the offset correct and use a real low profile tire to avoid rubbing the strut (which seems to be the true limiting factor in putting large wheels on the Element)

Just to be silly, here's what my E would look like if I had 28-some-odd-inch wheels on it.:D:roll::?

bonanz
08-11-2005, 09:54 PM