Stinky Dog [Archive] - Honda Element Owners Club Forum

: Stinky Dog

Hondamade4dogs
11-05-2005, 11:20 AM
My dog is getting a funk smell to her. She is like 14...Do you think it is old age stink or do you think she has some kind of sweat gland problem...?

bustamelon
11-05-2005, 11:24 AM
I have no experience with aging dogs but my 2 year old puppy, at certain times of the year, gets that teenage boy stink from lying in his plush bed and, I assume, sweating. Bathtime!

Bald Eagle
11-05-2005, 11:45 AM
If I calculated correctly, that's 98 in human years. My grandmother smelled pretty bad at that age, but that's probably because she died at 95. :shock:

bustamelon
11-05-2005, 12:21 PM
If I calculated correctly, that's 98 in human years. My grandmother smelled pretty bad at that age, but that's probably because she died at 95. :shock:

.........DOH!

22b22
11-05-2005, 12:41 PM
Dogs dont' sweat, but dirt and oils can stink bad. It's OK to wash him/her - your dog won't shrink :-P

I went from washing my dog every 6 weeks or so to every 2 weeks and he's much easier on the nose. It also ensures I clip his nails and check his ears regularly.

bsdowner
11-05-2005, 02:19 PM
Could be anal glands - take your stinky dog to the vet. Labs and water dogs tend to have oily skin/hair to repel water.

Washing dogs too often makes them stink worse. Same applies to ferrets. Only wash cats when they do stink.

lae10851
11-05-2005, 09:11 PM
Did anyone else think of "Smelly cat" when this thread came out???

22b22
11-05-2005, 09:26 PM
Could be anal glands - take your stinky dog to the vet. Labs and water dogs tend to have oily skin/hair to repel water.

Washing dogs too often makes them stink worse. Same applies to ferrets. Only wash cats when they do stink.

I agree about the anal glands - does the dog "scoot" on the floor? That's a key indicator. I "express" my dogs glands monthly the morning before his bath. That way he eats and has a BM to clean out whatever is left before his bath.