How can you play cassettes in the EX? [Archive] - Honda Element Owners Club Forum

: How can you play cassettes in the EX?


fosterbo
02-28-2003, 08:58 PM
My black EX 4WD comes in on March 7!!!! But how will I play my cassette collection when it's got a CD player?? Can I use the MP3 jack to run a cassette deck? Any ideas out there? :?: :?: :mrgreen:

RML
02-28-2003, 09:04 PM
Give you a few possibilities,

You can play a cassette player thru the AUX jack. You would need a mini plug wire to plug into your cassette player.

You might be better off in the long term, getting someone (or buying the equipment yourself) and burning your own CD's.

You can also get an MP3 Player and load your cassettes into it.

fosterbo
02-28-2003, 09:07 PM
How about using my Walk-Man cassette player, that has its own battery power source??

isketerol
02-28-2003, 10:44 PM
Anything that has a headphone jack should work. I would think that you want some level of anti-shock on the cassette player tho, as it may get jarred a bit.

Iskie

RML
03-01-2003, 07:36 AM
Your walk-man should have no problems working thru the AUX jack. Isketerol is right however, you should look in to something that has shock protection. There may also be a bit of a humm when you use it.

dsmasters
03-01-2003, 08:35 PM
I have my walkman hooked up to the aux jack and it works great. I too have tapes that I like to listen to on occasion. I got the cable from the walkman to the radio for $4.50 at Target.

Hope this help.

Dano
Nighthawk Black 4W DX

fosterbo
03-04-2003, 10:57 PM
Thanks for the tips. I'm off to Target.

utahrex
03-16-2003, 02:55 PM
I read the last couple of posts, ran to Target and got the audio cable, plugged it into my portable walkman and the AUX port and all I get is a HUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!! No music at all. What's up with that? :?:

byron92806
03-16-2003, 03:03 PM
It should work. Did you press the AUX button?

I plugged my Classical Acoustic/Electric Guitar into the aux and it worked. The volume was not as loud as I would have liked but if I use a pre-amp it should sound OK. A $19,000 guitar amplifier. :D

Next I am going to plug in my laptop into the aux.

utahrex
03-16-2003, 03:13 PM
volume bar but nothing comes out but HUUUUMMMMMMMMMM! :roll:

RML
03-16-2003, 04:54 PM
Did you plug it in the right port?

:?

Macromonkey
03-16-2003, 06:21 PM
Have you checked the volume on the walkman?

utahrex
03-16-2003, 07:42 PM
Just like the owners manual says, I turned down the volume on both systems all the way, plugged the connecting cord into the AUX jack and the headphone output jack, pressed the AUX button on the radio, turned up both volumes, one at a time and HUUUMMMMMMMMMMMM! When I plug the headphones into the player, it works fine. :roll:

rodaniel
03-16-2003, 08:12 PM
I would suspect the cable, Rex. I had dismal results with the first cable I tried and only fair results with a different one. The third cable I tried cleaned up the sound like a charm. If you're interested in trying the same cable that I am using, check this thread:

http://www.elementownersclub.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=712

(Please note: This is not intended to be a shameless plug. I'm only trying to be helpful.)

utahrex
03-17-2003, 11:48 AM
tonight if you will give me the address and thanks very much for the offer! :)