Aftermarket Navigation System Installed (with pictures) [Archive] - Honda Element Owners Club Forum

: Aftermarket Navigation System Installed (with pictures)

eMass
03-29-2003, 05:21 PM
Here's some pictures of my Magellan 750 NAV installed in my Element...

http://home.comcast.net/~derek-kelly/element/nav/nav1.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~derek-kelly/element/nav/nav2.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~derek-kelly/element/nav/nav3.jpg
http://home.comcast.net/~derek-kelly/element/nav/nav4.jpg

Misc. notes:

I bought this unit specifically because it worked so reliably in all the Hertz rental cars I've driven (Hertz has installed these in over 50,000 of its rental cars!). In my experience the unit works as well if not better than others costing twice as much and you don't have to rip your car to shreds in order to install it.

My job requires a lot of driving - it has never let me down and I've been using these units for almost 3 years - the maps cover the entire US and Canada (no extra charges for zones) plus since it's got a hard drive for storage, there's no DVD's to swap!

The LCD is bright and crisp and the voice prompts are clear and concise. It's accurate to within a tennis court sized area which I feel is pretty acceptable.

The customer support is great too - when I had the unit deinstalled from my Montero and put in my Element - something happened to my GPS antenna - Magellan sent me out a replacement free (they cost over $100 retail)!

This unit is the best $1500.00 I've ever spent - I haven't regretted it one bit.:D

Best,
eMass

XCElement
03-31-2003, 11:59 PM
Nice work (again). I'm waiting to use my laptop setup with one of these..
http://www.delorme.com/earthmate/
With the software needed for it, one should be able to overlay vehicle location on some nice 1-m aerials I have of the sierra nevadas...at least for me.
XCE

eMass
04-02-2003, 12:55 PM
[quote:416a2fb189="XCElement"]Nice work (again). I'm waiting to use my laptop setup with one of these..