Honda Element Owners Club banner

Pros and cons

2K views 8 replies 9 participants last post by  GYPSYTDA 
#1 ·
Made up my mind that I can't live without an E. My problem is I have an 01 Ford Explorer Sportrac with only 11,500 mi on it. According to Kelly Blue Book and USAA the trade in value is only between 2 and 3 k below the price of the new Ex I want to buy. Where does this put me is a barging situation with the dealer ? I have ZERO experience in buying a new car having spent almost 30 yrs in the military on the move. Any advise would be most appreciated. TIA Tinker :cry:

#2 ·
[quote:516aca45b1=" "]Made up my mind that I can't live without an E. My problem is I have an 01 Ford Explorer Sportrac with only 11,500 mi on it. According to Kelly Blue Book and USAA the trade in value is only between 2 and 3 k below the price of the new Ex I want to buy. Where does this put me is a barging situation with the dealer ? I have ZERO experience in buying a new car having spent almost 30 yrs in the military on the move. Any advise would be most appreciated. TIA Tinker :cry:[/quote:516aca45b1]

You may be better off trying to sell it privately. At least take it to Carmax and get an offer (doesn't cost anything) so you know you have an alternative if the dealer tries to kill you on the trade-in.

#3 ·
>You may be better off trying to sell it privately.

I second this. Sell it on your own. You will take a beating if you try to trade it in. The low mileage doesn't help you much with it as a trade-in, but it's a super selling point as a private-party sale.

>only between 2 and 3 k below the price of the new Ex

Don't set yourself up for a big disappointment - there is no way that your truck is worth $16-17,000 as a trade-in. I just ran your vehicle through Kelley and got $12,500 for it, and that's with options.