Honda Element Owners Club banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

P2646 engine code

76K views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  lizzurd 
#1 ·
2005 Element 4wd
I do not own a service manual.

My Malfunction Indicator Lamp (MIL) came on yesterday.

I took the Element to AutoZone for them to put their scanner on it and was told "P2646: Rocker arm actuator A- Bank 1 Perf. or Stuck off."

I also used canobd2.com and for Honda they list P2646 as: "A Rocker Arm Actuator System Performance or Stuck Off Bank 1"

Since then I've found almost general consensus on this board that P2646 is: "VTEC Oil Pressure Switch Circuit Low Voltage."

My question, why the difference in definition?

#2 ·
I just searched for the same Code on my newly acquired 2005 Element. (Since I am a 30+ mechanic) I'll give you my opinion of what's wrong. After reading about 10 posts on the same problem, I'm going to say it's your it's the Valve Timing Solenoid (located on the passenger side above or oil filter enclosed in a L shaped heatshield thing with two electrical plugs on top). Clean the solenoid and filter, reset the CEL and try it again. Some people have replaced the Vtech Oil Pressure Switch and still had the Code but it went away after cleaning the filter/strainer. I'm going to change the oil and filter and clean the pressure switch filter. The part is the same on most all Vtech engines. One of the web Honda dealers sell the part for $41.00.
37250-PNE-G01 SWITCH ASSY., VALVE TIMING OILPRESSURE ( No Color) 55.17 41.38

I've also seen a Moderator that said if the Battery Voltage is low that it can throw some funny codes.

Capt. Mike

#3 · (Edited)
Clean the solenoid and filter, reset the CEL and try it again.

I've also seen a Moderator that said if the Battery Voltage is low that it can throw some funny codes.

Capt. Mike
Capt. Mike, you're going to have to type slower for me!

What is the CEL? Is wiping the solenoid and blowing out the filter enough?