Honda Element Owners Club banner

Wifi Airplay through the Stereo!

10K views 17 replies 10 participants last post by  Ejudge 
#1 · (Edited)
Alright, so I have been toying with this idea for a while, and I think now that I have everything down that I will need to complete the process. This is my first time posting a thread, so bare with me. Install pics will be up in a few weeks once I start and complete everything, I just want to work through it all and get any advice.

So, I like many, have an iPhone. I have probably used my CD player 5 times in the past year, and play all of my music and news off my phone. And it is SUCH a hassle to plug the Aux cable into my phone in every time I get in the car and then unplug it when I have to make a call (sarcasm.) It's an even bigger displeasure that you have that Aux cable floating across the passengers area (double sarcasm.) So I wanted to find a wireless solution. The goal is stealth set up, native usage, and low phone power consumption. Apple's Airplay came to mind.

Quick history, then a run down of how I plan on attempting this. Apple first introduced Airturnes back in 2004. If you had an Apple Airport Express, you could hook up a 3.5mm cable to it, and direct your music to that output from your computer in iTunes. An Airport Express is basically a small wifi router/ ranger extender. Great device for party stereos, range extension, or travel. Now, in 2010 Apple came out with Airplay. Basically the exact same thing, except now it was being made and integrated into all of the hardware (iPhone, iPod, iPad) and 3rd party products. Pioneer just came out with a Receiver that uses Airplay, and there are a few standalone stereos that use it too.