Honda Element Owners Club banner

Geek Mod - Center Console Computer

3K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  SquadONE YH1 
#1 ·
"Geek Mod" :cool:

I thought I would see what everyone thought of my first "big" mod to the interior of my new 06 EX-P. I am going to be working on getting a computer into my Element with a 19" LCD monitor that can be tucked away when not needed. I work as a software developer and often times need to work while on trips or while traveling to and from different locations of substantial distance. Here is what I am planning to do and some of the concerns I have (feel free to provide some insight, cautions, etc). Inspired by SquadONE YH1's Oversized armrest center console, I am going to fabricate something similar except a portion of the inside will house a bare-bones computer.

The bare-bones computer will have an Abit motherboard with an AMD processor, onboard video, 1 GB DDR RAM, CD/DVD RW combo drive, 100 GB hard drive, a power supply and a couple low-noise cooling fans. All input/output jacks will be custom made to ensure a clean, neat look. A wireless mouse/keyboard will be used with the receiver mounted either inside the enclosure or under the front passenger seat. I have to check reception and interference before deciding. The wireless mouse and keyboard can be stowed away in the door or in the driver's side seatback bungee... or another area if I can find one that is convenient and not too obtrusive.

The monitor will be used to both compute and watch DVDs. I am thinking it might be best to mount the monitor on an arm so it can be raised up when needed and folded against the rear of the console when not in use. A protective case will wrap the monitor to protect it when it's not in use. Having the monitor centered will allow equal viewing to both passengers in the back.

Ok, so onto some of the concerns....