03 Oil Leak!!! - Honda Element Owners Club Forum
      Honda Element Owners Club Forum
Go Back   Honda Element Owners Club Forum > Honda Element > Problems & Issues

Notices

ElementOwnersClub.com is the premier Honda Element Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 02-27-2012, 11:36 AM   #1
6Bighorns6
EOC Rank: Hydrogen
2003 4WD LX AT
Galapagos Green Metallic (GGM)

03 Oil Leak!!!

My wives 03 AWD element has developed a significant oil leak from the "front" of the engine, seems to be under the oil filter and possibly from the front cover. I've been searching but can't pinpoint it, lots of oil.. So changed the filter to make sure there is only one gasket etc.. I have lots of experience with Nissans and SHO's but this little engine is a mystery to me and I can't seem to find a manual for it. Any thought's would be helpful, TSB's, front seal, valve cover, oil pump??? Thanks.
6Bighorns6 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2012, 01:27 PM   #2
eedviking
EOC Rank: Oxygen
2003 2WD EX MT
Sunset Orange Pearl (SOP)

Look at the valve cover (while riding the wind carries oil), combining gearbox and engine, steering cables, plug the oil pan. etc..Maybe you have a leak from the steering gear.
Perhaps more accurately describe where in the oil stain under the car?

By the way ........ Welcome to the fans Honda Element. I greet you from Warsaw

Last edited by eedviking; 02-27-2012 at 01:34 PM.
eedviking is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2012, 03:02 PM   #3
Rick92040
EOC Rank: Carbon
2008 2WD EX AT
Kiwi Metallic (KM)

When the oil filter is changed a lot of oil gets trapped in the cross member. It drips a lot for a bit then goes away. There is a special tool to avoid it. Are you sure that's not what you are seeing?
http://www.handa-accessories.com/elementmaint.html
Rick92040 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message