Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

(I did do a search and peruse for this issue, but couldn't find the answer I was looking for)

I am a mechanic at a Nissan dealership, so I do have a extensive knowledge on automotive repair. However, this is an odd symptom and before I replace the transmission, I wanna hear from others.

The Element in question is an '07, FWD.

Under load, particularly in second gear, there is a rather significant rumble that you can feel under your feet, but not in the steering wheel.

I checked trans fluid, and it didn't look great, and I thought maybe there was a sticky solenoid or something in the valve body that was causing this rumble. As a result, I did a very meticulous fluid change. Ran a SeaFoam cleaner first, and did 3 drain and fill procedures. On the last drain and fill, installed a Lucas Transmission Fix additive (half pint), and ensured fluid level was right in the middle of the hash marks. (w/o engine running)

Rumble is still present after making the fluid nice and bright red again.

I checked motor mounts, but couldn't fail any of them, plus the rumble doesn't feel like a motor mount rumble. Also, you can't recreate the rumble by loading up the engine in the shop (pulling on it).

Does anyone have any insight for me? Or is it replace trans?

Thanks in advance.

Chaz

·
Registered
2007 EX AWD AT (two!)
1,452 Posts
Don't be so quick to condemn a high dollar item like the transmission. Make sure it isn't something else before taking that leap. Check the axles. Vibration under load is a typical symptom of a failing axle. Ball joints, lower control arm bushings, etc.

·
Registered
2 Posts
My O7 Element had a vibration at acceleration that was caused by the front axle shafts after 140 k

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·