Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It has been about 1 year since I purchased my E and it has been awesome. I have never done anything to a car before, but in the last year I have done the Home Depot grill mod, installed my own floodlights, replaced the battery with a yellowtop Optima, replaced the inside lighting with leds, etc. However, the painted dash was a real pain in the butt, but provided the most satisfaction. I sanded all of the texture off, primed with plastic primer, used a rustoleum metallic spray paint (blue for the trim and center console, gray for the dash) and finished with a clear-coat. The blue metallic paint matches the car nearly perfectly. Just proves that anyone can do it.

And this site has been invaluable.

Next is the sound system and full inside led colored lighting.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,847 Posts
Great job! That really looks unique and well done. I love the fact that you chose really different colors than the factory did.:cool: Looking forward to you next mod.:)

Drew

·
Registered
4,174 Posts
Come do mine..................

·
Registered
669 Posts
Great job! Wow, that grey really looks nice.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks

I have to admit that right now, I am just glad it is done. Sanding out the texture on the dash was a pain in the ***. The cool thing was that my neighbors saw me working on it during the weekends for the last couple months (I work out of town most weeks) and thought I was crazy. Watching their reaction when I finally got it back in was pretty cool. I actually tried a couple different colors and ended up sanding it back down when I didn't like it. That being said, I would have never had the guts to do it without this site.

Because it is metallic paint, the blue shifts between blue and purple depending on the sunlight, and the grey seems to shift a little into the browns.

·
Registered
244 Posts
Fantastic job!

·
Registered