Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is having 2WD a big factor in resale for the E? I have an 2007 LX 2WD with 29,000 miles on it. I plan on keeping it another few years until I hit 100,000 miles (and probably a few more). I live in Nevada now but am planning to return to my home state of Pennsylvania in the next year.

I have 2 questions:

1. Should I regret having bought the 2WD? Being honest, it was all I could afford at the time. I have heard I will be in bad shape when I go to trade it in (in several years) for a new Honda. All this because of 2WD? I'm worried.

2. I have lots of experience driving in the PA snow, but always in a 4x4. How is the 2WD in the snow?

·
Registered
3,234 Posts
I have 2 questions:

1. Should I regret having bought the 2WD? Being honest, it was all I could afford at the time. I have heard I will be in bad shape when I go to trade it in (in several years) for a new Honda. All this because of 2WD? I'm worried.
This is total utter BS! The 2WD is supposed to get better gas mileage than the AWD and this effects resale more than anythng.

2. I have lots of experience driving in the PA snow, but always in a 4x4. How is the 2WD in the snow?
Put four snow tires on it and you won't know the difference.

·
Registered
226 Posts
I have heard that some dealers in my area (chicagoland) that they send the 2wd trade-ins off to auction. I would see if you can get any info off the internet for the east coast on 2wd Elements. Hell call some dealers out there and chat with them. Tell them you moving out there and what you have. Ask them to give you some idea of value vs 4wd. I would rather have the 4wd myself with less mpg than 2wd in the chicago winter. We ether have no snow or a sh*t load with ice storms! Its not that bad about 17-18 mpg around town.

·
Moderatorium
6,408 Posts
... The 2WD is supposed to get better gas mileage than the AWD and this effects resale more than anythng.