Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! My name is Eric. I'm a Newbie here with a problem, and I'm hoping someone can shed some light on it before I give in and take my Element to the dealer. Basically, my alarm keeps going off, honking the horn repeatedly, and it seems to be related to the sensor switch in the passenger door. Here are the details:

I purchased my 2005 EX MT (SOP) at the end of April from a private seller, who had purchased the E as a certified pre-owned vehicle from a dealer in Phoenix. I'm in the process of transferring the Honda Care warranty from the seller to me (there was a delay in getting the necessary authorization paperwork from the seller to Honda until recently), so I hope to have the seller's certified pre-owned and vehicle service contract coverage in place very soon. Bad timing for a problem to occur!

My E has an alarm. There are Karr alarm stickers on the windows and the doors lock when the engine starts and unlock when the key is removed from the ignition, so I presume from reading other posts here on this forum that the alarm was not factory-installed by Honda, but instead was a Karr alarm dealer-installed either for the original buyer in 2005 or for the certified resale to the second buyer, who then sold the E to me. The remote keyless entry fobs are the standard ones from Honda - one click of the Unlock botton unlocks the driver's side door; a second click unlocks the passenger side door and the hatch; one click of the Lock button locks everything; a second causes the horn to beep. I had never set off the alarm accidentally and had never even heard the alarm in the two-and-a-half months I've owned the E, until this week.