Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm this close > < to buying an Element (still debating on model and whatnot). However, I'm a ham radio operator, and I'd like to mount my mobile radio in the vehicle.

Details: I'm looking to mount a Kenwood TM-D700A. It's got a transmitter body that all the wires hook to, about 5.5 x 7.5 x 1.5 inches, and a control head that mounts remotely on a bracket. Power would ideally come direct from the battery, though an unused tap from the fuse panel would be acceptable.

Also, are there any service bulletins on putting transmitters in the Element?

All help appreciated. This isn't exactly a showstopper, but it sure would be nice to be able to do this.

·
Registered
493 Posts
Aside from what Dex said, I am KF6PHV and here is the way I did it....

First, found a bracket that will hold the antennea and used a bolt on the left side engine compartment near the flat spot of the hood to bolt to. Mount then extends between the hood and fender, and coax snakes along the inside of the fender and can be pulled into the cab very easily using a coat hanger to reach thru the door opening. Pull coax thru and under the rubber seal for the door down by the floor. Route to wherever.

Second, use monster speaker cable from Radio shack, solder ends on it to connect to battery, run thru same route as coax. When in the cab, attach trailer plugs to end of cable and to end of radio, fuse as needed.