Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Everyone...I'm completely sold on the Element as the ideal utility vehicle for me and plan to buy one.

I've been a stick-shift driver all my life (I'm 46) and do NOT want an automatic unless I have no choice. Alas, I seem to be having a great deal of trouble determining—ONCE AND FOR ALL—whether or not Honda is still making 5-speed manuals in '09 (or the upcoming '10) models?

I've literally had 3 different dealer representatives tell me 3 different things:
1. They stopped making manuals in '07.
2. They stopped making manuals in '08.
3. There were no manuals in '09.

But I've seen 5-speed manuals in '07, '08, and '09 year models! (So clearly these dealers were wrong.) I also noted that the 2009 Element brochure clearly states that the AWD EX model is available in 5-speed manual transmission. (But local dealers still told me otherwise.)

I realize very well that manual transmissions are rare and almost nobody wants them...and it appears for that reason, most dealers are simply clueless about the actual status of 5-speed manuals and Honda.

So if someone who is 100% certain they have actual, positive information directly from Honda could clear this up for me, I'd be grateful!

Thanks,
Scott

·
Registered
27 Posts