Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi people -

Anyone here ever Autocross an SC? Granted, I know there's the orange drifting SC, but that aside, has anyone on the boards done it?

I'm tempted to go to one of the Philadelphia SCCA sponsored autocrosses, just run it a couple times and see how it goes.

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
I did it once last year at a local autocross with my buddy because my camaro was getting some work done to it. I am a goid driver with a lit of racing background including motorcross/flat trackig a quad, shifter carts(raced at atlanta, mid ohio, and others), super motard, and road racing my camaro. When I got out there, I embarrased myself, it was not the first time I had autocrossed either. I have an SC, and it did well on the 2 sweepers, but any s-shaped or shicanes, hores shoes, and the "loop" they had, there was too much body roll, way too much understeer, and the tires could not hold. I did not have the worst time but only a second off. I am still planning to autocross it again, thats why I got in on the KSport Group Buy, I just put on X-Drilled/slotted rotors and good pads(cant afford the Rotora BBK's), will be getting rear LCA's, Engine Dampner, Buddy Club short shifter, amongst any other things to help.
I too want to make people go "WTF" when the see a box going crazy. I will also be getting an intake and exhaust down the road for better throttle response and turn exiting power, even though the 5 speed has decent gearing for down low, I never went pass second gear.
Any more questions, just ask, I am here to help.
Also if you are definately going to do it, get GOOD tires, I have on Dunlop Sport A01's now, and I can take my exit to work almost 8mph faster, the badyears suck!

·
Registered
557 Posts
I'm taking a trip to Monterey in a couple weeks. Does the Laguna Seca still let you tack your car? Or do you have to be entered in a race now?

·
Registered
1,220 Posts