Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

So my 03’ element has 252,000 miles on it. I’m not sure when the battery was last replaced, but thinking it’s been about 4 or 5 years.

So last night driving over the hill to the market I noticed my dashboard started getting dim, as well as my headlights. Once I got to the market my headlight were barely even lighting anything up, very dim.

I turned off the car and when I tried to start it up again I got nothing.

Came back this morning to try and jump it, got a very weak crank but no start.

To me it seems like the battery is shot? Would love to hear anyone’s opinion on this.

I’m thinking about heading back tonight and installing a new battery myself, I’m not experienced at all with working on cars but seems pretty straight forward.

If anyone has any comments or suggestions I would greatly appreciate it!!

Have a great day!

Wesley

·
Registered
227 Posts
Hi everyone,

So my 03’ element has 252,000 miles on it. I’m not sure when the battery was last replaced, but thinking it’s been about 4 or 5 years.

So last night driving over the hill to the market I noticed my dashboard started getting dim, as well as my headlights. Once I got to the market my headlight were barely even lighting anything up, very dim.

I turned off the car and when I tried to start it up again I got nothing.

Came back this morning to try and jump it, got a very weak crank but no start.

To me it seems like the battery is shot? Would love to hear anyone’s opinion on this.

I’m thinking about heading back tonight and installing a new battery myself, I’m not experienced at all with working on cars but seems pretty straight forward.

If anyone has any comments or suggestions I would greatly appreciate it!!

Have a great day!

Wesley