Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new with a new '06 ex. I have read lots of info but I still have a hard time decifering the input for what I deem a unique situation. In Seattle, we drive daily on WET roads a lot. However on just about any trip to the mountains we also almost always have to go through multiple transitions into wet slushy piles of snow, snow, compact snow with high water content and solid ice as we go up to 3-4K ft. The same can be said for driving to whistler.

Needless to say this is not the same situation as the rockies where the snow is dryer and driving is much different. So what works best in Colorado or Utah does not translate to coastal mt. ranges. So what has worked best for you? I'm ready to buy and dump these Badyears!

·
Registered
3,733 Posts
Although I now live in the B.C. Interior, I have always sworn by Nokian Hakkepeliitta tires even when I lived on the north coast. This was a more extreme situation that you face, however.

They have great traction on ice, snow, slush and in standing water and are long wearing. The only downside is that they are expensive and for only occasional mountain use may be overkill.

·
Registered
855 Posts
get the new nokian wrg2's they're a great tire, good for rain, snow mud etc and you can leave them on year round, they also have the snow hazard label so no need for chains

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the tip but those tires are not available near where I live. From what I've read the General Grabbers seem good and also I'm a fan of BF Goodrich. I do have a budget too. I did notice the hancooks get a good review but I've never even heard of those tires.

·
Registered
123 Posts