Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's been a month. My E has been sitting waiting for me to do something. Shops see me coming and graciously give me their outrageous bids. I'm a natural born carpenter like you all are natural born auto mechanics but I can sort of envision what I could do to get this done my own self

A guy on a mountain biking forum told me (on a thread I started there) he got the parts needed at Rock Auto, him and a buddy got it all swapped out in 45 minutes, no welding required, easy peasy

But, of course, his DIY repair would not be my DIY repair, for any number of reasons. Here's what I'm thinking:

Get a Walker CARB-rated cat/con assembly (from upper flange that mounts to the exhaust manifold to lower flange that mounts near the resonator) (pardon me if I don't use the correct terminology!) but...and this is a big but...try to use what was leftover on the motor end to avoid the potential disaster of trying to remove that from the motor. I can just imagine all the things that could go wrong (that didn't for the guy on the mountain bike forum but just might with me)

My cat/con thief cut just after the 1st O2 sensor leaving some pipe to work with but cut the flange at the back end leaving not much pipe at the hanger

Wheel Tire Land vehicle Vehicle Motor vehicle

Wheel Tire Vehicle Car Automotive tire

Land vehicle Motor vehicle Vehicle Automotive tire Bumper

To keep this a no welding job, I see cutting off the front part of the cat/con assembly and somehow attaching it near the 1st 02 area: a piece that fits inside what's left over that I could then attach the front end of the assembly (flangeless it's true). I'm keen to leave the piping from the 1st 02 sensor to the manifold to avoid problems in the disassembly. Would that work?