Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to EOC (although I've been lurking for a couple months) and am about to start shopping for a 2010 E as the lease on my 2007 VW Touareg V6 is up in about four months.

The Touareg has been a great car, unstoppable in the snow, but there's no way I'd own this car out of warranty, just way too expensive to maintain. For example, a xenon bulb just went out, would have cost $250 to replace (good thing it was under warranty).

My father has an 06 E that has been solid and cheap to maintain, which is one of the main reasons I am now interested. He is retired and takes it up to the mountain to go skiing all the time. I actually talked him into the E because I've always liked them.

I am interested in a Black EX w/Nav and have a question: Are all other options beyond 4WD and Nav dealer and/or owner installable? Meaning, when I am looking for a new E, do I need to ask for the additional options at the time of the search? Or can I add the additional options later?

Some of the options I am interested in: Roof Rack, Fog Lights, Dog Package, Rear Power Outlet, Grey Metal Interior Trim, Security System, and Bluetooth kit (was just added to the "build you E" section on Honda's site).

·
Registered
599 Posts
Everything you have listed is either dealer or owner installable and you'll find examples of their installations here on the site. The two exceptions I'm not 100% sure of are the Dog Package and Bluetooth. The dealer should be able to tell you for sure, give them a call.

A great resource for both buying optional equipment and finding the installation instructions is HandA accessories (www.handa-accessories.com). Give their site a look for some more info.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Welcome to the E world, fellow VWer. You'll probably find you fit around here, we are legion.