Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,
I am not sure if this is on the right forum, and can move this if need be. I am new to the element community, and bought a SOP 2003 4WD EX yesterday with 195723 miles on it. When I bought it from the second owner, it was extremely filthy, and is full of dog hair. It reeks of dog and cigarettes, and was wondering if you guys had any tips or tricks to get rid of the smell. I have replaced the cabin air filter and engine air filter (both looked to be the originals from when the car was new), and vacuumed out most of the dog hair. Do you guys have any ideas on how to get rid of these smells?

·
Registered
482 Posts
You might want to consider having it professionally cleaned this first time and maintain it yourself thereafter. I'd suggest going to a local detail shop and let them see/smell it and tell you what they can do.

·
Registered
1,515 Posts
Unfortunately if the smoker contaminated the interior excessively the smell is well beyond the surface and into the seat foam and adhered to the actual adhesives used to assemble the interior itself including the rubber floor. My mom was a chimney in her car to the point it effected her vision clouding the windows with yellow tar and smoke resin. It was terrible. That was a Toyota Matrix so the seats and carpet, headliner and door panels could be heavily shampooed. One thing that saved the seats was the cheap seat covers. The E has a water repellent material instead of standard fabric. Ive had the interior of my 07 SC shampooed and although it did clean the seats it was obviously not as effective as with a regular material car seat.

For the E I would,

Remove all interior panels for heavy cleaning, even the plastic parts. Then heavily clean the exposed areas behind those panels. Smoke will have lingered in those cavities attaching itself to the adhesives and rubber parts. There will be animal hair in there as well.