Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any ideas here? I'm thinking it's a fuse but I've never worked with fuses before so I'm not sure.

The dome light (front) stopped working - I took the plastic cover off and saw that the bulb was fine. Does this mean it's the fuse? Or could it be the whole dome light assembly?

Thanks!

·
Registered
4,971 Posts
Can you answer a few of questions?

• does it work with the switch on the light?
  • does the light in the rear work?
  • are you sure the light bulb is good?
- visual inspection is not a foolproof method of testing electrical / electronic parts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
the light doesn't work with the switch... and the rear light does work. i'm not sure that the bulb is good - i just did a visual check. the filament (i think that's what its called) looked just like the rear so i figured it was okay. maybe i should just buy a new one and check it out!

·
Registered
4,971 Posts
My guess is the bulb is bad. The front and rear lights (and the spots in the EX for that matter) all get their power from the same source (fuse #3 in the under dash fuse / relay box) if any of the lights are working the fuse is good.

·
Registered
2008 Element EX AWD
2,823 Posts
Sounds like a another good candidate for a burnout resistant LED replacement.

I just ordered mine after the second dome light bulbs burned out. At $4 a pop for incandescent bulbs at PepBoys it's easy to cost justify a more durable fix. I wonder if jump-starting my E a few weeks ago had anything to do with the lamp dying?

·
Premium Member
3,652 Posts
the light doesn't work with the switch... and the rear light does work. i'm not sure that the bulb is good - i just did a visual check. the filament (i think that's what its called) looked just like the rear so i figured it was okay. maybe i should just buy a new one and check it out!