Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I'm a recent high school grad and I'll be heading off to college this fall. My parents have finally decided to replace my old 1990 Nissan with a new car next week but I'm not quite sure what to buy. I like the Element because it's so cool, you don't see one every time you turn the corner, plus it has awesome interior space. I like the Civic because it's way cheaper, plus it has standard keyless entry and a power moonroof. Does anybody know which car would be best for running around town and the long road trips to college? Has anyone had experience with both cars? Right now I think I like the Element more than the Civic, but I have concerns about some problems. I've heard some people complain about loud rattles when driving the Element, plus the review on Edmunds.com said that the Element's body panels were discolored because of spilled fuel when refilling the gas tank. Has anyone experienced these problems as well?

·
Registered
82 Posts
I have owned both cars. I traded in a 2001 Civic. While the Civic is great on gas mileage and pretty fun to drive there isn't a lot of room. How much stuff will you be hauling back and forth ever summer from school? I had a truck in college and it was great. If you own an Element I guarantee friends will want to ride in that more than someone with a compact car. You really can't go wrong with either car. They are entirely different however and you really need to assess what you needs are. Both will be reliable. You will spend less money on gas with the Civic but have lots more room to haul stuff in the Element.

·
Registered
352 Posts