Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After purchasing my new 2003 Element I thought, wouldn't be great to have a matching "teardrop" trailer. Being an architectural designer I set to work. The design shown here is 5'-4" high (the height of the rear window on the Element), 10'-10" long to the propane tank (about from the rear bumper to the front of the Element windshield for comparison), 5'-5" wide with a 7" road clearance.

The teardrop was designed to be constructed of Tricel honeycomb with a fiberglass epoxy coating and matching paint. The rear door came down below the sink counter and overlapped two doors below that that hinge left and right.

The drawings show: 1) side elevation, 2) longitudinal section through the middle and 3) two rear elevations. The one to the left shows upper door missing and the half elevation to the right shows the teardrop closed. In all there were eight sheets of 24" X 36" drawings. I had two employees available to hire for 200 hours each from a local marine company. However, when I did some quick math their labor at $65 per hour would have been as much as the Element itself, not including materials.

The intended function was to travel around the coastline-of-the-world. My dream was larger than my pocketbook. Instead I purchased a Tentrax trailer. It's great for hauling things and okay for sleeping if there are two people. Trying to erect the rainfly by myself was almost impossible in the wind.