Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Howdy all. Lurker becoming a first time poster, though I wish it was under better circumstances. As a note, I do have the owner's and shop manuals.

Due to tangentially related issues I decided to do a cylinder compression test today. (Slow coolant leak, rough idle on startup, P0303 thrown)
I did the dry test with no issues and it read steady across the board (135, 131, 131, 131). Pretty darn good.
Due to a misunderstanding on my part I somehow got it into my head that a wet test was necessary, even though my compression was totally fine. I've never done a wet test before and strongly believe I used too much oil. Aside from being unnecessary, my readings were erratic and fluid. (218, 230 with a moderate drop to 170, 195, 195 with a moderate drop to 135). I did notice that cylinder 1 looked like a toddler attempting to blow their first "raspberry" as I was testing the other cylinders.

I reassembled the head and fired up my E, slightly confused by my results. The vehicle started fine despite the new and unusual quirk of belching smoke from the tailpipe and a thin cloud of smoke coming from the engine bay. I shut down the engine and took the plugs back out again, making sure to clean and degrease the plugs and plug packs. After mopping up what I could with a rag in the spark plug wells I pointed a light down into the cylinder. I could make out the piston head and didn't see any evidence of excess oil pooling around it.

Once again, I reassembled the head and started her back up. She started fine but the smoke, once again, spewed from the exhaust. The smoke from the engine bay had largely ceased. I let it run for ~10 minutes but the smoke only slightly let up. Frustrated, I shut it down and am now here, tired and writing this post at nearly midnight.

I know I did something wrong, but I'm at a loss as to what I caused.