Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was wondering if the MAF sensor is directional? As in, does it need to be oriented so the incoming air hits on one side or another? because I'm thinking I could just mount it so the screw holes would just bolt into the intake tube, rather than being offset.

Also I'm open to any other ideas anyone has on how to mount the MAF sensor with VERY limited know how, I pull cable for a living, not fabricating haha

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Alright so after getting everything in and finding the right hoses (3 trips to lowes a trip to advance auto and napa) and making a "bracket" for the MAF sensor I now have a check engine light! would someone care to explain what I might have done and how to reverse it?

Thanks

·
12,180 Posts
Alright so after getting everything in and finding the right hoses (3 trips to lowes a trip to advance auto and napa) and making a "bracket" for the MAF sensor I now have a check engine light! would someone care to explain what I might have done and how to reverse it?

Thanks

Did you drill a hole for the MAF sensor to fit into? If so is it sealed up or can air get in around it?

Can you post a pic so we caqn see how you installed it?

Something to keep in mind. When the 2007's first came out a good number of people had CEL's when they tried to install a SRI on them. Something about the new intake design likes to toss a CEL at you if everything isn't to its liking.

·
Registered
3,242 Posts
I was wondering if the MAF sensor is directional? As in, does it need to be oriented so the incoming air hits on one side or another?
I have an older E' which didn't come with a MAF sensor,but on most vehicles the MAF sensor will have an airflow direction arrow printed,or marked on it somewhere.

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Did you drill a hole for the MAF sensor to fit into? If so is it sealed up or can air get in around it?