Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello All,

Newbie here, both to the forum and the vehicle. We (my wife and I) bought a brand new 2010 E about a month ago and I immediately started brainstorming ideas to make it a more comfortable camping rig. I needed the ability to always have room for three so I decided to build a folding platform that rests where the rear drivers side seat is and will fold out to cover both the other rear seat and the front seats, either one or both depending on need.

I used a combo of ideas acquired here and some original thought.

Material used:

2- 23" x 48" 3/4" thick plywood
1- 24" x 46" ply
1- 48" piano hinge
2- 12" piano hinge
5- threaded floor plates (steel)
5- 1 1/4" thread to slip PVC fittings
5- 13" legs made from 1 1/4 Schedule 40
20- 1/4" dia. bolts/nuts/washers for mounting floor plates
2- 10" turnbuckles

Pics:

Attachments

·
Premium Member
2007 Element EX TRP
2,492 Posts
NICE!! Have a similar idea in mind myself...... :shock: :roll::)

Thanks for the great pix as well!! :razz:8)8)

·
Premium Member
3,652 Posts
Looks great!!!

Just an FYI, there is NO such thing as too pic heavy!!!!
We are a very visual group!! :twisted:

·
Registered
836 Posts
LOL I didn't read the pic heavy part until rol pointed it out. I was actually going to ask of one more or maybe 2 more pics....seriously.

one with the rear seat up taken from the drivers side with rear door open.

and one from center between the two front seats, kind of like what you would get by looking in the rear view mirror.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Awesome

That is perfect! Just what I hadn't thought of.:-D I don't need room for three, but the side stacking storage is perfect. Thanks for the pics.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Huh?

Actually, wait a second. How are the planks across the front seats attached to the larger rear folding boards? I couldnt make it out in the pics. If you don't mind me asking?

·
Registered