Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I found an 06 Element with low-ish miles and in mint condition...literally the only seat ever sat in was the driver's seat. Nothing hauled in it ever, etc. I can buy it for low 7s with 130K on the clock. I can buy the same car in an 08 nearby, but it's $10K, about the same miles, but in poorer condition...not bad, but compared to this one it's not as clean. Both have new brakes and tires and service records...one owner cars. This will be our third car and mainly used by myself or my daughter for work commuting or hauling my track bike to the track a few times a month in the summer/fall (900 pounds total including trailer)

I know the 07 and newer have the 5 speed trans and a little more power, but is there any real differences in overall reliability between the 06 and 08 MY in general?

thanks

·
Registered
16 Posts
I'm no expert by any means, but having just been looking myself, it comes down to one being 2 years older. Technology changes, the rest of the vehicle is older, not just the engine. One being really well taken care of is something. For me, if they were both equally nice, same mileage, etc, I'd spend extra and go newer. Thats just me though.

·
Registered
249 Posts
Reliability should be about the same but you will get more airbags, standard stability control and seat belts that don't anchor to the rear door. For me, safety is the clincher.

·
Registered
487 Posts
So, your choices are an 06 that is a one owner that has been well maintained and is clean or the 08, one owner in poorer condition. If both have about the same miles, the avg. miles per year are (roughly) 14.4k for the 06, and 18.5k for the 08. All other things being somewhat equal, I'd take the one with the lower avg. miles that is in better condition unless there are features on the newer E that I just had to have over the older one.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #5