Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a NYC driver and recently started to notice some front end issues...
I have started to get a bounce in the frontend at moderate speeds (30-40mph), if applying the brake (esp in a turn) my E starts to bounce bad enough to give me the willies. And if I hit a bump/pothole just right the drivers side gets a big THUD from what I believe is the strut tower.

Tires are a year old and have good life left in them, Tire Pressure is 32f/34r, millage 55k. I have tested the springs by bouncing on the E and it quickly returns to normal. Before I bring it into the shop I want to have a good idea of what might be the problem. On that note, any recommended shops in/around Flushing Queens?
Thanks, Paul

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
clarification

The bounce is only on bumpy sections of road (i.e GCP around CIP), on smooth roads she rides fine until I hit a pothole.

·
Registered
1,911 Posts
Its hard to say but you may have a strut failing or swaybar bushing going bad. Best to take it to a alignment shop and have it looked at.

·
Registered
36 Posts
Check your compliance bushings

Check your compliance bushings. It's a common problem on Elements. They are located on the front control arms. The control arm start from the ball joint behind the front wheels. The arm has two bushings. One in the back and a round saucer looking one in the front. The front one is the compliance bushing. Check the right and left sides. The arm should be sitting in the middle not sagging against the chassis. I have the same problem. I had to point it out toy mechanic. I still have yet to get it fixed though.It's safe to drive around until you can fix it if you can deal with noise but waiting to long might cause the bushing at the back of the arm to fail also.

·
Registered
816 Posts