Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to find a vehicle I can drive from coast to coast... in any type of weather... and also have fun doing it. the element seems to be my answer.

plus I really love the look of this vehicle...

but I'd like to know from you, real element owners and not car salespeople, how it handles in snowy/icy conditions. and is the element's 4 cylinder engine really strong enough to handle hills? like northern california hills with a cargo full of gear?

((THANK YOU FOR YOUR RESPONSES. I hope to be an element owner soon!!!))

·
Registered
608 Posts
abbynormal,

I don't know if I qualify as a real person, that is still up for debate, but I am not a dealer or salesman. I am a Lawyer, sorry.

As far as your questions....

Snow and ice, well, no vehicle is going to deal with stopping on ice, unless it has studded snows, and even then it only helps. As far as driving, the Element works great. The ability to have the Element change by itself, automatically from front wheel drive, to 4 WD is great. I got up my father's driveway in NH in the snow. It is snowing here in NY today, and while I am not going speeding down side streets, I will have no problem getting to where I need or want to go. Even before they plow the streets. Depending on where you go, you need to keep an eye on ground clearance, as if the snow is really that deep, you gotta be careful.

The 4 cyl. Well, I would love to have a 6 in it, but you really don't need it. There are plenty of hills and mountains in NH. On our trip up, we had a full load, back packed, as well as some things in the back seat. 2 adults, and it had no problem at all. The gas mileage is one of the wonderful things about the Element. On our trip, mostly highway driving, still will under 1000 miles on the engine we were getting about 21/22 with a full load. I am sure that will go up, but for an SUV, that is great.