Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Howdy Y'all!

I took my E into a shop to have the multitude of susp. noises diagnosed. I am attaching an image of the full estimate. I was flabbergasted at the price, and I have decided I will attempt do every single bit of this by myself... at least giving it a concerted effort. I'll tap out if I can not justify my time/effort investment.

I have minimal experience working on autos. But I am a CDL driver and work at a truck company. So we've got all the tools(air tools, saws, etc...) and many of these part replacements, I think I should be able to perform! My issue is that I do not know what the best order is to execute these tasks. I am also worried that I'll need several alignments performed if I take too much time in between replacements.

I am asking you folks for suggestions on a good order in which to perform these repairs. Are there any of these parts that, once replaced, I should get alignment done immediately? Or can I just pick and choose parts and wait to get one alignment at the end? I am not sure how many weeks(months) it will take me to fully learn and perform all these tasks.
Also, should I follow the recommended part #'s provided by my local technician? Or can I opt for a lower control arm from Autozone for 1/3 of the quote price?
Would you guys buy completely OEM parts and make it like new, or can we consider things like quick struts just to get the noises and loose ends tightened up? Is there any part here that you might recommend not even attempting solo?

Thank you folks very much for any guidance. I hope to be able to provide informative updates on my efforts. Last weekend I completed my full service brake job, and am very happy about having saved hundreds of dollars already!

- Alex

Edit: Keywords = Tie Rod Ends, Sway Bar Links, Lower Control Arm, Rear Knuckle, Trailing Arm.

Attachments

·
Registered
255 Posts