Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been tossing around the idea of getting rid of my E for the last 6 months or so. The main reason being my wife and I cant stand the road noise! I never thought much of it until I moved to the city and bought a Hyundai Sonata. Now the E seems very loud. I was dreding having car payments again when it came to me that maybe I should look into Dynamat. I went to a shop that installs it today and they said it would be $810.00 to use Xtream Dynamat on the doors, rear quarter, tire compartment, and back tailgate. Its basicly this:

http://www.dynamat.com/download/vss/2654_2004_Honda_Element.pdf

But with the top part of the back door and the spare tire area as well.

What do you guys think? Is that a good price? Is it worth it? I'd love to hear from someone thats done it before.

I also dont know how much of the road noise comes from my tires? Maybe if I got ones that were made for low noise? The tires I have now are Continental Sport LX cheapys from walmart.

I figure the $800 is much less than the $10-20k it would cost to buy a new car! Plus I like everything else about the E.

·
Premium Member
962 Posts
That price doesn't sound too bad. I did my four doors and rear hatch a couple year ago and it is the most noticeable mod I have done hands down. But I did double layers of Dynamat along with the Ensolite foam. One layer of each on all outer and interior metal. The Dynamat reduces vibrations in the metal but the Ensolite foam is the insulation that reduces the noise. I'm not sure how much of difference just 1 layer of Dynamat will make. It's wasn't a fun project and it took all weekend but was well worth it IMO...

-Mike

·
Registered
16 Posts
The tires can make a huge difference. Yokohama AT-S Tires is what I have on mine, and I had the same tires on my ranger before. very quiet, very aggressive, and very smooth.