Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just beginning to think about starting a new physical activity, Kayaking.
I already am into mountain biking and would like to start Kayaking, to get a good upper body workout ( especially since biking is lower ) and to enjoy being on a body of water.

I am not great in the water, certainly not much of a swimmer, but with a vest very willing to get out there.

I have been reading up on line and have learned some of the basic types of Kayak's but I am unsure if I should focus on a sit in or sit on type of Kayak ?

I would appreciate some advice from someone who knows, thanks.

·
Registered
3,234 Posts
Look for kayaking clubs in your area (Google is your friend). They are always glad to help out beginners and can recommend equipment for people new to kayaking.

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
REI has a demo day where they bring every type of yak out to a local lake and let everyone take them for a paddle. There is no shortage of experienced paddlers to get advice from either.

·
Registered
816 Posts
What is your goal?

Paddling complements cycling, so if your current objective is exercise and you are not a water rat, you are a good candidate for a sit-on-top.

But, first read all the articles that interest you on Paddling.net => http://www.paddling.net/guidelines/ then visit one or more shops. Most shops have demo days (where the weather cooperates, like in the lower Chesapeake, one in the spring and a second this time of year). I tried 4 different brand kayaks before we bought our touring kayaks.

My initial goal was complementary upper body exercise, and we got a pair of 9 foot Ocean Kayak SOTs from Bass Pro. They were inexpensive, but not a good choice for someone wanting to spend 3-5 hours on the water. Fun for an hour or less, but can be very cold and wet.