Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a subaru technician but I'm tired of looking at them at work and driving them home so I'm looking for a good Honda Element. Ive found an 03 with 219000 miles and I'm curious about what to look out for on that year with that kind of mileage. What are some common problems? Should I be too worried about the mileage? Thank you!

·
Registered
2,675 Posts
it's not the mileage, it's the life it has led.
we bought our 2nd Element with about 205K miles from the original owner, who is a member of this forum and had done all the maintenance. it now has about 245K miles and we've replaced the knock sensor, the head unit (because we wanted more features), the tires, the windshield wiper blades, the engine oil, the filters (air, oil, cabin), the battery and that's about it.

·
Registered
25 Posts
I have an 03 with 93k miles on it. I've had very few problems - lately an unknown electrical issue that seems to drain the battery. Gaskets and hoses need to be changed. Otherwise, it's been great. Regular maintenance and it's been fine. I love it.

About to list it for sale only because we wanted a car with more safety features for hauling our kids around.

·
Premium Member
352 Posts
Trevor , As you know, a lot of used car buy's are the luck of the draw. You, being a mechanic know first hand what to look for. If the E has it's service records, that's gold. Does the car look good for it time? Does it drive well? Sometimes these are the only indications we have as to the cars history. I guess you could also do a CarFax to make sure it wasn't in ten feet of water.Go luck.

·
Registered
30 Posts
I was just looking at the 'how many miles' forum and am sure there are several E's on the road with over 200k now... Is anyone on here over 300k? would love to hear about it or see pics :)

·
Registered
2 Posts