Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm 16 (as of 1 month ago), and am a Student Pilot (can fly a plane by myself, but cant carry passengers). I have plenty of flying experience (360 hours, my dad is my instructor and have been flying since I was 12), but have to wait until Im 17 to get my real license. I am considering trading my 2003 Chevy Suburban 4x4 (135,000 miles) for a 2006 Ralleye Red Element EX AWD with 104,000 miles. I love Elements and they fit what I do (school, airport, Mt. biking, R/C aircraft flying). I also love the Suburban, just not the gas milage (am getting 10mpg) and the maintenance. My dad has a 2004 Nighthawk Black Pearl Element EX AWD that he loves with about 60,000 miles and hasn't had any problems at all. The one that Im looking at is at CarMax, so it should be all cleaned up and detailed. They say that only 1 in every 13 cars that they get, pass there inspections and actually make it to the lot, so I feel pretty confident about its condition. It is currently being transferred to the local CarMax (Wichita, KS), so I should be able to see it for myself soon enough. Plus my Dad's Element was purchased from CarMax with 22,000 miles and seemed to be in like new condition. They seemed to be very straight forward, caring people. If I get one I plan on doing a lot of the DIYs and mods, to make it MINE, along with becoming an active EOC member.

·
Registered
278 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

FWIW, you should get that car inspected by a mechanic before buying it so you don't have any surprises. None of the things you mentioned about the dealer are reason enough to not get it looked at first.

At the very least check for vin stickers on all the panels.

This one in particular is a bad assumption:

They say that only 1 in every 13 cars that they get, pass there inspections and actually make it to the lot, so I feel pretty confident about its condition.

·
Registered
78 Posts