Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Theories on bad gas mileages

This is my opinion on bad gas mileages:

1) If you use a/c all of the time < i use it about 5% of my daily trips >

2) windows are down, gas mileage will be less because of the wind "drag"

3) a drivers weight < i'm about 185 but if you are heavier, their you go

4) If you have 2 or more passengers you drag around

5) If you have a lot of accessories < i have about 87 pounds on my E >

6) Have something heavy in the back trunk area all of the time.

Bottom line:

I drive 95% alone all of the time, I very rarely use a/c, my windows are slighty down when hot, my trunk area is empty..... i get about 25 to 26

or

If i drive 2 or more people, i use the a/c, i have tons of stuff in the trunk, then i get about 22 to 23

I am not a Rocket Scientist, but this is what I GET!

·
Registered
155 Posts
I also get pretty decent gas mileage - 21+ around town and 26+ on a run. I've found a noticable hit when running the a/c that causes something like 8% reducation in this around town and less (maybe 5%) on the highway. I don't have any approcaible degredation in mileage from having the windows down, nor from carrying loads or people. Worst degredation in fuel efficiency has been when running at 90mph or more, and that dropped the highway mileage from 26 to 21 or less.

·
Registered
247 Posts
Guess I'm going to have to live with bad mileage for awhile longer then -- an extra 3-4 MPG isn't worth turning off the A/C when it's in the 90's with high humidity. :)

·
Registered
247 Posts
Guess I'm going to have to live with bad mileage for awhile longer then -- an extra 3-4 MPG isn't worth turning off the A/C when it's in the 90's with high humidity. :)

·
Registered
21 Posts