Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, I fully admit that I am brand new to the Honda Element world. I have always admired them but finally made the jump and purchased a 2005 Honda Element EX this past weekend. I am super excited as there is so much i want to do but the first thing I need to do is find the correct roof rack.

I 99% sure I need a "basket style" rack that allows you to place items on top and then strap it all down with a net type device. This would allow me to carry all my camping equipment coolers, etc..

I have the OEM rack system already on the car however, being completely new to the Element, I am not sure if that rack needs to be upgraded to hold the rack I want.

I also think it would be easier to get to the roof by installing something like the Gobi ladder that is made for the Element. That said, I am interesting in knowing if that is an option and how much installation work that involves and if any functionality of the rear gate is at all effected??

Which brings me to the question of what to buy. I know I want a rack that will allow or come with off-road lighting. However, i don't know what my options are or what is the best choice? I've seen Gobi racks, Yakima Load warrior rack, Curt Roof rack, TPS Lizard rack, and on and on.

Any advice / help you could give me knowing what i am looking for, would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
1,089 Posts
The Gobi Ladders are nice. You may want to upgrade your hatch struts (anyway. I upgraded mine and I don't have the added few pounds of the Gobi ladder). I believe that the factory SC spoiler (if you have one) is not compatible with the Gobi, but that is it.