Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi EOC community!

I recently purchased a 2010 Element EX w/ 81k. I'm a newbie to the scene, but have liked these vehicles for a while. Excited about my purchase and loving it so far. Seems to be in great condition and it looks like the previous owner maintained it well(based on the pile of receipts I found in the glove box.) Just looking for advice, or what to expect from my Element... Any quirks, avoidable problems, potential upcoming problems to expect, etc...

Any help, advice, and guidance is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
2003 Honda Element Sunset Orange Pearl 2WD Automatic 135K Miles I Love It!
687 Posts
Welcome aboard.

The search function on this site is your best friend. Just about anything you would want to know about your Element has already been discussed at length here already.

And it's great that you got good maintenance records. At 81K miles, aside from the usual wear items (like tires, brakes, battery, serpentine belt, etc.) you should be good to go for quite a while. It should have had its transmission fluid changed by now; if not you ought to do that soon. Otherwise the next big maintenance issue would be your Valve Adjustment, which should be done after ~ 100K miles.

Otherwise, check your negative battery cable on the end opposite the battery where it bolts to the engine/trans. If you see corrosion there (a common problem) replace it right away.

Use a high grade synthetic engine oil, and a high grade oil filter as well. (I like the Wix 57356.) And ignore the long oil change maintenance interval in the owners manual. 5K miles between oil changes is the absolute outer limit, even more often (like 3 - 4K miles) if you live in dusty conditions. Trying to go too far between oil changes (like the 10K listed in the manual) is just begging for trouble down the road with your VTEC system; and you don't want that!