Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I've been visiting and reading for a while now (several months). This past week I had my first opportunity to sit in an Element. I have not decided one way or the other that I will buy one, but the Element seems to be my number 1 choice right now.

I've been considering a new car for a while. I currently drive a 90 Ford Aerostar with about 150K miles.

First off, I wanted to thank you for all everything you've discussed. It helped me quite a bit as I determined what vehicle might be right for me.

Now, perhaps, I can make the help more personal.

I was wondering if anyone else had owned an Aerostar and changed over to an Element. What kind of transition did you have to make? Is there anything in particular I should look at the next time I look at an Element?

I have 1 main concern as I see it:
I have a very lanky(sp?) build. I'm roughly 5' 11", and about 3 feet of that is leg. In my Aerostar, I have plenty of room, and I really like my foot position when I drive (the pedals are roughly as far below me, as they are in front of me). I like the 'high ride' feel.

I did not get that 'high ride' sense as I sat, but then I did not spend as much time in the Element as I would have hoped...the salesman seemed more interested in getting me to try a Pontiac Aztek that was $3000 more expensive (ugly things).

·
Registered
176 Posts
ugh, sorry that it seemed your salesman was preoccupied with landing an upsale.

my suggestion would be to perhaps hit a different dealership and ask if you can take the E on a short private test drive. if they let you, make sure you jack up the driver's seat to your liking and move it back far enough to get the feel you're looking for. then take 'er on a spin :)

the e has alot more options as far as driver seat height/position than i'm accustomed to after driving my 95 chevy lumina. i'm still trying to figure out what i like.