Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First Post, thought i'd make it count.

I'm a newb when it comes to Elements, but not to Honda's. I've owned about 7 or 8 over the last 10 years.

I Picked up a 2006 Element EX with 90k on it in April 2011. First thing i noticed when i test drove it was a loud clunking from the rear when going over bumps or cracks, and the rear diff chattering when turning tight or backing and turning. I talked the seller down about $600 and drove it home on a gamble that I could fix the issues myself. :?

Took it home to tackle the most expensive fix first, drained diff fluid and filled, drove in circles, drained and filled and more circles and the chatter was gone. drained and filled just for good measure and it was time(90k service) and i had succeeded in fixing that issue for $12 worth of DualPump fluid. :razz:

Next I took a stab at the rear end clunking noise. I looked at the sway bar end links, and Lower Control Arm Bushings. All seemed tight, looked at the sway bar link bushing ( that holds it to the body) and it looked kinda dried out. Went to the Dealer and picked up the bushings and links. Got home and took it apart. Bushings are held down by 2 x 12mm bolts, and the bushing has a slit to allow you to take it off the bar(see pics). It was obvious that this was the issue as they were worn and glazed where they had been rubbing on the sway bar.
I slipped the new busing on and bolted the clamp over the new bushings and drove down my driveway and up my street and the rear end of my Element was now Silent !:-D
I returned the SwayBar end links because i didnt need them.

This is the part number for the bushing: 52306-scv-000
i think i paid $4 each.

Cheap Fix and it worked! I've been driving it the last 8 months and still no clunking noise.

I've attached Picures to help you figure it out.

Good luck and thanks for looking

Attachments

·
Registered
117 Posts