Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking of another location for the spare tire. so that the well could be used for storage of stuff that you need but dont need sliding around. I've thought about the roof rack mount, trailer hitch bracket and even pondered about how cool it would look mounted on the front like the safari trucks in the movies. But this is the idea I have been hatching,GOBI makes a ladder for the Stealth roof rack (stealth way cool but not afordable) The ladder would make a nice attachment point for the spare. Now I realize that the struts would be to weak to hold it up so a handi brace would be in order.Can the hinges on the back window take the extea weight of the spare day in and day out? Then there's the visibility problem, but I'm a truck driver so I use the side mirrors most of the time and one of those cling fresnel lens could more than compensate for the obstruction.So now I'm looking for input, photos, ideas, advise and of corse validation of weather this is a cool idea and a cool look or just a mess.....

·
Registered
6,238 Posts
IMO you can't put a spare on the liftgate without ruining it eventually. A basket on the roof rack should work fine. Don't forget to secure the tire well (not just with bungees) and protect it from UV.

Agreed !

You may also wish to look at the solution that ramblerdan has on his website.

Dom

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
IMO you can't put a spare on the liftgate without ruining it eventually. A basket on the roof rack should work fine. Don't forget to secure the tire well (not just with bungees) and protect it from UV.
so how about the safari look any ideas, if I were to go that way I would want to keep it tight to the grill and not way out say on a bull bar. I think putting it on the hood like the old german kubelwagon would obscure the drivers view.

·
Registered
07 2wd 5-speedauto
1,695 Posts