Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
You know, the ones that look like you bought them at Target? I'd like to remove them and paint them black. My DH insists he can do it without removing them.

I'm, uh, opposed to that. He's out of town and I want to do it tomorrow. I get a little freaky controlling when anyone does stuff to MY stuff. It's not pretty.

So you could totally contribute to marital bliss and make my rims look better if you'd help me out. I thought you could just pry them of, like with a butter knife.

Apparently this is not the case.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Forgot to ask, these are plastic, right? From what I'm reading about how to take them off, I'm not even sure you can call them rims, hubcaps? bear with me, I'm a novice. Any spray paint recommendations?

·
Registered
3,234 Posts
Yes they are hubcaps and you have to jack the car up and remove the lugnuts to get the hubcaps off.

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
take the lugs off one at a time and snap the little plastic ring off that holds the cap on, then put that lug back on (assuming this is how they are like the old civics). repeat 20 times and you have the caps off without having to jack up the truck. or just jack it up one wheel at a time and take all 5 off and put them back on.

·
Registered
3,234 Posts
take the lugs off one at a time and snap the little plastic ring off that holds the cap on, then put that lug back on (assuming this is how they are like the old civics). repeat 20 times and you have the caps off without having to jack up the truck. or just jack it up one wheel at a time and take all 5 off and put them back on.
That will work. Just don't lose any of the black plastic rings and be sure to put them all back when you are finished. They are what holds the plastic hubcap to the wheel.

·
Registered
188 Posts