Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First let me say hello, this is agreat site. I'm geting ready to buy new tires for my 09 E-EX AWD as the OEM tires are just really starting to show their weaknesses. I'm an average driver that rarely gets on it around town. I just drive slow and steady with a 50/50 mix of city/highway driving. We do seem to deal with snow and ice each year, but on avg nothing really bad. Usually blackice and maybe 6 to 10 inch snows.
So I'm trying to decide between these two tires and was wondering if anyone would comment on how they affected their MPG after install. Tire size I'm looking at is 225/70/16.
Thanks.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Also look at the Yokohama Avid TRZ 225-70-16. I've used it over the years and would not change the brand. It has a very very quiet ride and 80K threadwear warranty. Only $83 at Tirerack. This will replace my tires-I think it was a uniroyal. Got all Yokohama's in all my vehicles.

·
Registered
250 Posts
i think on this site you find far more fans of the Nokians.
I am running Alenza 235/70/16. I was happy with them. They performed very well in almost all conditions. Two satisfactory winters with them. This is the first winter I took them off and got dedicated snow tires. They were not that great in the snow once they hit 30,000 miles. I plan to put them back on in the spring and get one more spring/summer/fall out of them.
Their strength was excellent traction in the rain and great cornering and performance.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the info. Did you notice a decrease in your MPG with them? I'm leaning towards the Nokians, but my local tire shop is offering me a good deal on the Alenzas.

·
Registered
7 Posts