Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I was so impressed with all the ideas here, I thought I'd post the results of my own project. I'm a photographer and travel frequently, and often in remote areas. A comfortable place to sleep saves my budget and my body.

Traveling with a bunch of gear also makes me worry - whether it's a guitar or a camera, or a laptop that I leave behind while hiking. When I designed my sleeping platform, I thought about how to make it double as a security device. It's true that this won't stop a determined thief, but anybody that wants to get to anything inside is going to have to work pretty hard.

The platform/cage is made of 1/4" hardened steel rod with a frame of 1" square steel tube. It's the same stuff they make warehouse racks out of and heavy store display stands. I welded it together with a hinged rear door that lifts up. When closed, a u-lock keeps things secure. After welding the rack together, I painted it with truck liner paint which works really well.

I fastened the rack to the inside of the vehicle using turnbuckles, and due to the location, can only be loosened while inside the cage. I also made a prop for each side of the rear gate so it could serve as a platform while camping. It works great for cooking and showering. If it's warm out, it works as a nice bed extension. Since the platform is so high, my feet can hang comfortably over the front seats and I can keep the back closed. It's a nice option though.

Here are some shots of the bare cage installed:

With the cage closed and the rear gate down, it turns the Element into a comfy camp sofa.