Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2007 Element, 150k miles, while I driving around anywhere something starts to vibrate like if I were driving on the rumple strips on the side of the road. Honda doesn't see anything wrong, claiming the Element needs new brakes pads! Why wouldn't it happen when I am applying the brakes then? Any body else experienced anything like this?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hello! I'm curious if the vibrating is associated with any particular gear? When I bought mine (maybe 4 months ago) the previous owner described what he called a little "shimmy" in the engine, I generally only feel it (like a rumble strip) when accelerating through high second. Apparently this little shake is a well documented & unexplained quirk of certain Elements, if you're experiencing the same thing it's probably nothing to worry about. Maybe I've become accustomed, or maybe I'm just learning the car a little better, but recently I've been fueling with clear gas every 2-3 fills, car feels more responsive & shimmy has been very minimal.
Good luck!

·
Registered
1 Posts
2007 Element, 150k miles, while I driving around anywhere something starts to vibrate like if I were driving on the rumple strips on the side of the road. Honda doesn't see anything wrong, claiming the Element needs new brakes pads! Why wouldn't it happen when I am applying the brakes then? Any body else experienced anything like this?
Had same problem in my 08 element. Would start vibrating around 45 mph and if you sped up to around 50 mph it would stop. Over a period of time the condition got worse. I found by searching the internet that the lockup clutches in the torque converter were probably going bad as the symptoms indicated. Turned out that was the case. Required replacement of the torque converter to fix the problem. Pricey.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4