Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Moderatorium
6,408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The dealers here (St. Louis) are practically giving away auto-4x4 EX's ($1300 under invoice), obviously because they aren't selling. Having driven one, I now understand why. Which leads me to ask...

Has anybody considered what it would take to retrofit the 5-speed into an A/T E? In other vehicles the transmission choice dictates a lot of "fiddly bits", such as dash clusters and steering columns. I've noticed that the E has all the transmission bits entirely in the center piece that pokes through the console. Other than the possibility of the drivetrain computer being different and installing the clutch pedal and linkages, once you locate a suitable transmission (from a wrecked E or CRV), what else is in the way of doing this?

I'm a mechanic and would do the work myself, but without an E in my driveway yet and a service manual on the shelf, some help determining the feasibility of this would be appreciated.

:)

·
Registered
914 Posts
Why aren't they selling? Does it suck to drive? Is there no power in the auto?

Don't know myself. Test-drove the 5 spd and bought a 5 spd. Maybe thats why people have been complaining about the power? They all have AT. My 5 spd has plenty enough power for me.

Oh, by the way, will your E by Yellow to continue the generations?

·
Moderatorium
6,408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yup. I test drove the 4x4/auto and was... well... underwhelmed. The various reviews I've read on the E have consistently confirmed that just this drivetrain combo was an underachiever.

I'd love a yellow E, but given that's not a choice it's pretty much looking like anything but black.

:(

·
Registered
150 Posts
I have an ex auto and I feel it has plenty of power. more than any other vehicle i have owned!! more than the v6 ford explorer that i traded in!!

the e could easily beat the explorer in a race!!

·
Registered
176 Posts