Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2003 E with automatic transmission. Has anyone swapped out your 4 speed auto with the 5 speed that came out in 2007? Or are there any interchangeable 5 or 6 speed auto transmissions from other honda models? Are you happy with the swap? Are there any potential problems with this swap?

Here's my sad story...

I took my E to the dealer for regular service. The tech noticed that my transmission case is cracked. The crack is HUGE! I saw it on the lift. Death is imminent. I've been fighting with Honda corporate for a while, but this is a losing battle because there's evidence that the previous owner was in an accident that may have damaged the transmission. How sad!

OK, i'm over it. This is a great opportunity for performance mods!

Thanks for any feedback!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Mind you I'm not an expert...but I think the 5 speed auto needs a seperate ECU to work properly. As does getting swaping over to a 5 speed manual.:sad:
There is a website
http://www.car-part.com/
that you can find used transmissions...and a whole lot of other good parts in your area. Check it out.

·
Moderatorium
6,408 Posts
Can't be done, basically, and you're certainly not going to want to pay the tab for somebody else to do it. It's not a drop-in replacement and it's not just the ECU - there are significant electronics and wiring package changes with the 5-sp A/T.

Consider it a great idea and great opportunity ruined by reality. :-(

·
Registered
116 Posts
Decided to add to this thread versus creating a new one. Has anybody had success with this swap? I noticed that post #3 said no but that was 12 years ago. Any update on a potential success story out there? The difference in MPG might be worth this swap in the loong run.

·
Registered
4 Posts