Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
"Da Box", 2008 Element LX, Atomic Blue Metallic
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone!

Long story short, my second cylinder valve is burnt. I know this is a fairly common problem and that there are a few threads about it, but I wanted to document my own experience, and I also wanted to explore all of the possible options for people experiencing the same problem as me in an orderly informative way.

I've brought it in the a reputable engine rebuilder amongst the local car scene, and they quoted me $3500 (CAD) to resurface/replace/repair the engine. They also mentioned that they could do a whole engine swap for me for around the same price (me buying the engine + them installing it ~ $3500).

Issue Background
I'm no mechanic, but I'll do my best to explain the issue as I understand it.
  • Burnt valves are often causes by ineffective seals between the valve itself and the valve seat
  • This allows for the hot gasses within the engine to escape through the ineffective seal, which will often cause burning to the valve.
  • This burning leads to low compression in the cylinder, and will often lead to misfiring (in my case, P0302: second cylinder).
  • Burnt valves can lead to poor engine performance (especially at idle), engine noise, misfire, increase fuel consumption.
  • It is a very important fix and should be taken care of right away
  • Fairly costly and time consuming

Personal Background
  • I am a recent graduate. I've got no source of income and I'm not rolling in the cash right now (if you can hook me up with an engineering job, dm me lol).
  • I'm fairly mechanically inclined, although I've never taken apart my engine past the cylinder head cover. With instruction/proper tools, I'm confident I could I could do anything.
  • I paid $6000 for the Element back in August of this year, still paying it off
  • 08, LX, Standard Transmission, about 225100 km, good body condition.