Honda Element Owners Club banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, so I have some basic knowledge of how to wash a car well which my brother taught me. I would say that I do all right, but I want to make it look brand new every time I wash it. The four products I use are: Purple Power on the wheels, Murray's Tire Shine on the tires, Stoner's Invisible glass with 2 microfiber clothes on the glass and then Rain-x to protect it (don't remember exact type, Ill add that here later). I have a dark green 2004 Honda Element EX AWD and live in Ohio, where every weather imaginable is seen.

I have a lot of questions, here's a list please don't feel obligated to answer any of them or if you only know the answer to one then please just help me out with the one.

My questions are:
Is the Rain-x necessary?
Are there any better products than what I use with a reasonable price tag?
What should I use to get the plastic panels the cleanest and nicest looking?
What's the best way to wax?
What's the best brand of clay bar and how often should I use it?
Whats the best way to clean the floors?
What's the best way to clean the seats?
What's the best way to clean the other interior surfaces such as dash and steering wheel?

Thanks for all your help that I hope you post here, I do love to take care of my car and want to keep it looking new until it's impossible.

·
Registered
103 Posts
You could possibly get a ton of replies as everyone has a different approach and different preferences for the products used when cleaning their E.

I prefer Dri Wash'n Guard Ultra Ion for all external surfaces. Works great on the metal, plastic and windows. I spray it on, rub it in with a microfiber cloth and then polish with a 2nd microfiber cloth. The product says you can use it on a dirty car, but I always wash my car first.

Just waxed with Dri Wash'n Guard:

When the E is wet after being waxed about a week ago: