Honda Element Owners Club banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie so please bear with me. In the past six months, I have had 5 wheel studs break. My E is an 05 EX with alloys wheels and 173 k miles on it . Is something wrong or are they just old and worn? Should I just replace them all or could there another problem. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
282 Posts
One reason wheel studs break or pull out is because some tire places like to put anti-seize on them. Lug nuts are not supposed to have anti-seize and the torque spec is for dry threads. When you take them to the same torque with anti-seize on the threads, you end up with about 2x the load on your studs.

·
Registered
2003 Honda Element Sunset Orange Pearl 2WD Automatic 135K Miles I Love It!
992 Posts
When I lived up North (Chicago area) I always at least put some oil (never anti-seize) on the wheel stud threads; as a way to fight off the road salt!

Now that I live in FL, it's really not necessary. But I'm still in the habit of putting a drop of oil on the wheel stud threads anyway, just before I put on the lug nuts.

Is it possible that someone in the past seriously over-did it with a high torque air impact driver? Too much torque can stretch the studs, and you notice the problem later.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
After 14 years and 173 k miles, I'm sure they were probably over torqued more than once. I'm beginning to wonder if I should ever get the tires rotated again. Thanks for your thoughts. Ted

·
Registered
2003 Honda Element Sunset Orange Pearl 2WD Automatic 135K Miles I Love It!
992 Posts
Yeah, I'm tracking with you tedstory. Even my most trusted local repair shop had some rookie on their staff screw up the wheel studs on my Caravan (our work horse, so I wasn't too upset!). But, if they did that to my Element.............. I would have gone off on them!